SOCIAL VOX

My thoughts on the world around me

The Boy in the Photo

As I began creating this blog, I thought to myself, “it would be great to upload a picture on here.” As I scavenged through the hundreds of pictures that I’ve taken, I settled on the one now found on the homepage — a young boy, standing in a creek, looking out. It was a picture I took three years ago in Big Sur, CA.

The fact is, when I snapped the picture the boy was looking at his dog playing in the water about ten feet away.

In my imagination, however, the picture illustrates much more.

The boy is young and thin, some of his bones visible to the naked eye. The water to his right seems to come alive, swirling and growing stronger. The small boy looks to his left, and to his dismay there is only darkness.

Alone, he looks out into the great abyss. He shivers a little.

He looks around, but cannot find a single adult within shouting distance. The water swells even higher. The darkness creeps a little closer, consuming the birds’ songs and the very air the boy breathes. The cold, firm grip of despair tightens around his spine. The boy asks himself, “What can I do?”

When faced with adversity, what can you do?

I was in law school for over a year, but I wasn’t having a good time. The classes satisfied my intellectual curiosity, and I’d made some wonderful friends, but something was missing. I didn’t feel passionate about the work. I began to sense that the fire in me, which once burned and knew no master, was dying slowly.

I realized that I had to leave law school and pursue my dream of writing. That was when I stepped into the creek. To my right awaited a crumbling economy and family members who considered my departure from the law a fatal mistake. To my left, my future career in writing was a great abyss — full of uncertainty and perhaps too dark to see the dangers ahead.

What should the boy do? I started a blog.

It’s not much so far, but it’s certainly a start. In the face of fear, I’ll have to rely on my words to guide me through the rising tide, and act as a flashlight for the darkness that looms.

December 7, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

6 Comments »

  1. Never lose or forget that you have a gift for writing.
    Let your words be your flashlight always.
    I can’t be more proud of you, enano.

    Comment by amc | December 7, 2008 | Reply

  2. Great paths start with a first step –small, perhaps even with fear– but great paths are always your own. Bon voyage!

    “We shall not cease from exploration, and the end of all our exploring will be to arrive where we started and know the place for the first time.” –T.S. Eliot

    Comment by GR | December 7, 2008 | Reply

  3. Art is everywhere…..I know you see it, and I’m glad you’ve captured it and are continuing to do so….

    Comment by Caro | December 9, 2008 | Reply

  4. …I, like many others, believe in you, and in the fact that you have great talent…keep following your dreams, even if they seem a little blurry and distant~ the important thing is that you finally made the decision to let go of your fears and listened to the desires of your heart!, and that is what really matters~
    Dá lo mejor de ti, y hazlo con AMOR…el resto…vendra por añadidura ;)
    Btw~ ya tienes una fiel seguidora…you better not stop :P

    Comment by Nathy | December 10, 2008 | Reply

  5. El saber escribir no es solamente poner una palabra detras de la otra sin cometer errores gramaticales…eso se aprende en elementary
    Lo que tu estas demostrando, principalmente en tu “explicacion” de la fotografia es no solamente que sabes escribir, sino que sabes narrar y lo has hecho de una manera muy bella, entrelazando una simple fotografia a tu vida y a tus suenos, con una alegoria ante los elementos de la fotografia en cuanto a lo que esperas de tu futuro y a tus miedos…Gusti me encanto y creo que eres un narrador innato.
    No pares…escribe, escribelo todo y guardalo, no tires tus ideas, tus suenos, tus amores…eventualmente todos ellos son los que formaran parte de tu vida.
    Mucha Suerte, y admiro tu valentia de seguir tu voz interna

    Comment by Alejandra | December 12, 2008 | Reply

  6. Gusti- I only know you through your mother’s eyes, and we all know those are not the most objective viewpoint. But now that I’ve read your initial blogs I know you a little bit through your own works and I can see that your mom is absolutely right when she says you’re smart, creative and a good writer. I am one of those who thought leaving law school was a mistake, albeit not a fatal one. I’ve always found that in the long run all paths lead to Rome and what is within you will flourish as long as you nurture it. But if you felt your fire was dying in law school, then you made the right choice, at least for this year. I wish you the best and am glad you’ve found this outlet for your talent. I will continue to read your blogs and will pass it on to people I know.

    Comment by Ana Goller | December 13, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

