SOCIAL VOX

My thoughts on the world around me

USC Cinema: Writing for Screen & TV

I’ve long considered going into graduate school for film/TV writing. While I took three screenwriting classes in college, I’ve always felt that I would need to attend a graduate writing program to truly hone my skills. So, I visited the website of the University of Southern California’s writing program, and I came across this video:

Vodpod videos no longer available.

I like that they’re exposing writers to different facets of the art of film making. Not only do they focus on writing, but they also look at the craft from a director’s and actor’s perspective.

It also serves as an inspiration to see and hear people who’ve “made it.” USC only admits roughly 30 writers per year, and being affiliated with such a prestigious program is an important, albeit not a necessary, step toward finding success as a writer in Hollywood.

At least with respect to me, this video served its purpose: I now find myself even more tempted to apply.

December 22, 2008 - Posted by | Art, Education, Film, TV | , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Video is missing. Regarding USC school, go for it!

    Comment by GR | December 26, 2008 | Reply

  2. Video is back. Awesome! What are you waiting for?!!!! Wow!

    Comment by GR | December 27, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

