SOCIAL VOX

My thoughts on the world around me

The Wrestler…Mickey, You Surprised Me

I shouldn’t have judged a book by its cover.

I took one look at the “The Wrestler,” and I said, “this looks terrible.” I thought it was some B-movie with Triple-H or some other pretend wrestler. Boy, was I wrong.

I should have looked deeper and noticed that Darren Aronofsky was directing. With the director of Pi, Requiem for a Dream, and The Fountain, this film was at least worth giving a shot, right?

I should have looked deeper and realized that Mickey Rourke was basically playing himself. A man who had suffered from addiction, lost his career and was down on his luck. He, Mickey Rourke, who was once in the same acting school alongside Robert De Niro, Al Pacino, Christopher Walken, and Harvey Keitel. How did I overlook this film? Judging by Rourke’s speech after winning the Golden Globe for Best Actor in a Drama, I wasn’t the only one.

I dedicate this post, then, to “The Wrestler.”

The trailer:

Mickey Rourke (Golden Globes Best Actor in a Drama):

Bruce Springsteen – “The Wrestler” (Golden Globes Best Original Song):

I hope I made up for it.

January 13, 2009 - Posted by | Art, Film | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I have to say that you are not the only one who judged by the cover. I had seen Wild Orquid many moons ago, and after that I didn’t like what I saw happening to him as a human being.
    It’s always nice to see when someone can re-invent themselves and become a better person.

    Comment by amc | January 13, 2009 | Reply

  2. Mickey Rourke made his own path, headed toward his destination, and found himself pulled out back to his destiny. Mickey has many different faces. Watching Kim Basinger in Bravo, telling the world about her worst career experience: working with Mr. Rourke. Living in the 80s in Miami, we all knew about Mickey’s boxing matches inside his place in South Beach, and the street fights afterward in Washington Ave. Competing with Madonna’s affairs of those times was not an easy thing to do. Competing for attention with Stalone, also in the neighborhood, was not an easy task.
    I recently rented and watched Micky’s best dramatic performance ever; perhaps until now. With De Niro in “Angel Hearth” (1987, now in special edition) Micky elevates to a different class of actors –Brando, De Niro, Al Pacino. But listen to the interview and you will understand why he is where he is today. Is not calling Russel Crow an A-hole that makes this interview interesting, edgy, but his confessions about his true passion: boxing, hooked to pain. I also saw Micky in “Domino” a year or so ago; I was happy that he was ‘coming back’–despite an obvious physical transformation that makes him look more and more like a monster. But I was happy, as I always remember the good looking “9 1/2” actor.
    “Ciao sexy!”, said a woman to a creepy-looking man in a warm night in Lincoln Rd, South Beach. I turned to my side to see who this ‘sexy’ person was. That was Mikey, with a border-line transvestite look, carrying a small dog in his arms –his companion, according to his own claim during he speech at the Golden Globes. Tourists stopped to take pictures with him, and he loved it! Another night, another night, Mickey was always there, zigzagging Lincoln Road from Drexel Ave to Alton Road, seeking a lost audience that makes him feel alive. Mickey Rourke tried to avoid his destiny embracing physical pain, but his destiny found him walking the nights of South Beach, to take him to a place where he really belongs. After seeing a self-defeated and decadent Mickey Rourke, I am delighted to see him alive again, enjoying this, his moment of glory. Bravo Mr. Rourke!

    Comment by GR | January 13, 2009 | Reply

  3. i was wondering what happened to Mickey Rourke, then there he was at the Golden Globes

    Comment by coffee | January 13, 2009 | Reply

  4. Coffee,

    Never underestimate the power of self destruction…

    Comment by GR | January 14, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

